Local Municipalities

Matjhabeng Local Municipality

The Matjhabeng Local Municipality is located in the Lejweleputswa District of the Free State Province. The name is a Sesotho word meaning “where nations meet”. It is derived from the migrant labour system where people from various countries like Lesotho, Mozambique, etc. meet to work in the mines of the Goldfields. The municipal area incorporates the towns of Welkom, Odendaalsrus,   Virginia,   Hennenman, Allanridge and Ventersburg.

Masilonyana Local Municipality

The Masilonyana area of jurisdiction is located in the Southern part of Lejweleputswa District Municipality and is surrounded by local municipalities of Matjhabeng, Tswelopele, Tokologo, Mantsopa, Setsoto and the Mangaung Metro. The municipal area comprises the towns of Winburg, Theunissen, Brandfort, Verkeerdevlei and Soutpan. The most important occurrence over the past few years was the erection of the tollgate on the N1, in the vicinity of Verkeerdevlei and the completion of the upgrade of the Brandfort-road to Welkom.

Nala Local Municipality

Wesselsbron and Bothaville function as individual administrative units with the bulk of the administration being done from Bothaville. The town of Bothaville is also the seat of the Council. Technical expertise in all fields of local government, including town planning, engineering, financial, legal and health services is either available from in-house professionals or from specialist consultants in these fields, located either locally or in nearby towns.

Tokologo Local Municipality

The area of jurisdiction in the Tokologo Local Municipality include the towns of Dealesville, Boshof, Herzogville and sections of the former Western, Central South and Bloemfontein District TRCs. The residential areas include the following areas: Hertzogville/Malebogo, Boshof/Kareehof/ Seretse and Dealesville/ Tswaranang and covers an area of approximately 11 933.24 km2.

Tswelopele Local Municipality

Tswelopele Local Municipality is situated in the north western part of the Free State within the regional boundaries of Lejweleputswa District Municipality. The Local Municipality comprises two urban areas/ centres namely Hoopstad/ Tikwana and Bultfontein/ Phahameng, which are 60 km from each other, as well as their surrounding commercial farmland, and rural areas as demarcated by Municipal Demarcation Board.